Issues · Links

For Malalai


I had a different post planned for today, but this recent incident has shaken me up too badly to want to blog about anything else.

Yesterday, gunmen shot down 14 year-old activist Malalai Yousufzai in Swat.  This brave little girl, who had simply wanted education for herself and her sisters, who had the courage to speak against the Taliban, was brutally attacked and is now fighting for her life.

There’s a lot that could be said, but for now I leave that to those more eloquent than I.

For now, I just want to say that my heart goes out to this young girl, and I, like millions of others, are hoping and wishing for her speedy return to health.

 

You can read excerpts from Malalai’s diary, written for the BBC and chronicling a schoolgirl’s life under the Taliban, here.

One thought on “For Malalai

Leave a Reply

