Introspection · Thinking

An explanation.


Some of you may have noticed the low frequency of posts in the past few months. I’m not the most prolific of bloggers, but since this is a personal blog I have tried to make at least a post a month, if not once a week.

 

For the past six or seven months I’ve been facing quite a few hurdles in my personal life. My response to them has been to throw myself into anything and everything that will allow me to escape them for a while. Everything from online debating to excessive reading. Escapism at its best ๐Ÿ˜›

 

The one thing I haven’t been doing much is writing, especially not of the cathartic sort. Mostly because I was having trouble accepting the stuff that was going wrong and was in a sort of denial. ย What writing I did do was mostly on issues unconnected with my life.

 

Writing has been for me my primary form of communicating with myself (and with others) in a logical and rational manner. Until the jumble of thoughts in my head are formulated into written words I can barely understand my own emotions, let alone make decisions or cope with circumstances.

 

In retrospect, my abstinence from cathartic writing in the past few months probably contributed to an approaching critical point of emotions and issues. ย The consequent mental meltdown occurred, rather unfortunately, last week, right before my exams. Since then I’ve resumed writing, and begun the long, slow, but rather satisfying task of sorting out the tangles of thoughts in my head.

 

Some of what I will write over the next few weeks and months will find its way here, some of it will not. But this post is both an explanation and a sort of promise, to myself and to you guys, to return to frequent postings.

So yeah, fingers crossed ๐Ÿ™‚

See you guys soon. ๐Ÿ™‚

3 thoughts on “An explanation.

  1. I await your future posts, do write but not with a heavy heart and sense of escapisms. Like with all things we supposedly fear, emotions can also be tamed by facing it and perhaps with some brutal honesty to yourself you might arrive at rational explanation too. At the end of the day if we are capable if providing an explanation to emotional encounters we are able to control them and we tend to bother no more.

    1. You’re very right Faz, and that is what I hope to achieve, taming via facing it, and being honest and coming up with explanations. Thank you, both for following the blog and for your advice here, I really appreciate it. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. What a wonderful post to come across. I have had a similar experience and I also tried to find refuge in books. Strange books. Books that reduced me to a spectator (and that of course was what I was looking for)……and to make sense of suffering I have always looked towards books. And not because they can give false hopes (not those books!), but because they turn the formless clouds that emotions are into beautiful words. “Diving bell and the butterfly”, Christopher Hitchens “Mortality” and “Autobiography of a face’- the best thing about these writer of these books is that they are able to talk about their sad experiences without being oversentimental. Never that mawkish feeling you get from a mourner’s song. I think it was Turgenev’s anti-hero who said somewhere that being sentimental is like chewing candy: it feels good for a while but then it leaves a bad taste in the mouth. Not much to disagree with there. Anyways some writings need to be kept secret. They are like the picture of Dorian Gray (I have become quite enamored with Oscar Wilde even though I am positive his influence on me is negative)…..you exhibit it and people will know more about you than you want them to. again, beautiful piece.

Leave a Reply

