Introspection · Random

Of flaring tempers.


I am developing quite a temper these days. I suppose, if I had to trace a cause, it would lead to all my recent activities – one cannot be arguing for secularism, and quarreling about women’s rights, and bickering over discrimination based on appearance, without becoming a little frustrated in the process.

So occasionally I notice that my anger flares up, white-hot and blinding, and I lash out or snap, and then it subsides, but it never really goes away. It sort of lingers, as a sodden resentment, as the smell of burnt toast now lying, black and horrid, in the sink. This bothers me less than the flashes – I dislike losing control. I fancy my mood swings are always tightly regulated, but that is not so. I am just more aware of them, because introspection lends me its observations. And these latest bursts of unrestrained anger need to subside.

Goodness only knows when that will happen though 😛 must cut down on the feminist non-fiction, I think.

See you guys soon 🙂

14 thoughts on “Of flaring tempers.

  1. Happens to me all the time. There are many home remedies for this with the top being listening to music and/or firing up CTR – selecting Dr. Cortex and making sure that you select and fire missile at Crash. lol. Debating online or in person really heat things up and as humans dont really have a blow off valve apart from punching a soft fluffy toy in the face, we have to live with these things. 😛

  2. Lol. That’s bound to happen when you’re waging a mini-Jihad (I know the term’s an anachronism for issues like women rights, at least in it’s contemporary understanding) against virtually an entire society 😉

    1. As Ani DiFranco says:

      I always feel I have to take a stand
      And there’s always someone on hand
      Hating me for standing there
      I mean, I always feel I have to open my mouth
      And every time I do
      I offend someone, somewhere.

Leave a Reply

